Refugee Hearings
During the COVID-19 Pandemic

Navigating the refugee claim process can be complex, especially during the COVID-19 pandemic. The information and resources below will help you understand how COVID-19 is impacting the refugee claim process and better prepare for your refugee hearing.

What your hearing might look like during the COVID-19 pandemic

The Immigration and Refugee Board of Canada – Refugee Protection Division (IRB-RPD) has expanded the methods for conducting hearings during the pandemic. You may have an in-person hearing, a videoconference hearing, a remote hearing, or no hearing at all. The IRB-RPD will tell you which format will be used for your case.

You are in the Immigration and Refugee Board hearing room with all participants. Health and safety measures are in place, including plexiglass barriers and masks.
In Person Hearing
You are in the Immigration and Refugee Board hearing room with your lawyer, however, the Board Member joins via videoconference.
Videoconference Hearing
You connect remotely via Microsoft Teams from your lawyer’s office or your home. The Board Member and other participants also connect remotely from their office or home. You will only have a remote hearing if you consent and are comfortable with the remote format.
Remote Hearing
You may not have a hearing if your case is selected for the File Review Process. The Board Member will consider your case and documentary evidence and may make a positive decision without a hearing taking place. If the Board Member has additional questions your claim may go to a hearing. See more about the kinds of cases selected for the File Review Process here: Less Complex Claims
File Review Process

Frequently asked Questions:

You may have questions about the refugee hearing process during the pandemic. These are some of the most common questions. If you have additional questions that are not answered here please email ready@refugeeclaim.ca.

This is the biggest question many refugee claimants are asking. The IRB-RPD has resumed in-person hearings and is working to schedule hearings as efficiently as possible, including those that were cancelled due to the COVID-19 pandemic. It isn’t possible to say exactly when your hearing will be, as there are many factors that affect the scheduling of hearings. Your case has not been forgotten. Contact your lawyer to discuss this further if you have concerns.
Your hearing may be either in person or by video. The IRB-RPD will tell you what format will be used for your hearing. If your case is selected for a remote hearing, you will be asked whether or not you consent to proceeding with the remote format. Remote hearings will not be considered suitable if you do not have legal representation, if the Minister’s counsel is intervening in your case, or if there are complex issues in your case. If you have a preference for either an in-person or remote hearing you should speak to your lawyer.
No. Children under 18 are not required to attend the hearing. This is to promote physical distancing in the hearing room. The IRB-RPD will notify you if your child is required to attend. If you plan to bring your child to the hearing, you should write to the IRB-RPD at least 10 days prior to your hearing to let them know. This ensures that physical distancing requirements can be met at your hearing.
You can provide documents by mail, fax, epost, or email. Until further notice, in-person delivery of documents to the IRB-RPD is not allowed. Information about how to send documents by email can be found under section 2 of this IRB webpage. Information about how to use epost can be found in this IRB practice notice. The page limit for faxing documents has increased from 20 to 50.
If your address or contact information changes, you need to let the IRB-RPD know as soon as possible. You can complete the Notification of Client Contact Information form and submit it to the IRB-RPD by mail, fax, epost or email. See more information about how to send documents in the question above.

What to expect if you have a hearing at the Immigration and Refugee Board (IRB) building

Important steps are in place to keep everyone safe during the pandemic. Make sure you review all IRB safety procedures before attending your hearing:

Where to find support

Refugee Hearing Preparation Guide

RHPG

Personal, practical, and legal support is important for your refugee claim, especially during the pandemic. Ensure you have downloaded the Refugee Hearing Preparation Guide in your language and for your city. The back of your Guide contains contact information for local organizations that can help you navigate the refugee claim process during the COVID-19 pandemic.

READY Tours

READY Tours

Attend a virtual READY Tour to learn what to expect at your refugee hearing and how to prepare. READY Tours allow you to visualize the hearing room, hear from an Immigration and Refugee Board of Canada – Refugee Protection Division staff member about what your hearing will be like, and ask any questions you have about the hearing process.

Special notices from the Immigration and Refugee Board of Canada – Refugee Protection Division (IRB-RPD)

The IRB-RPD has made announcements about changes affecting the refugee claim process during the pandemic. These notices cover updates to how hearings are operating, timelines for filing important documents, and changes to the ways you can submit your documents. These are some of the most recent notices:

  • The Resumption of In-Person Hearings: This notice contains important information about protocols for in-person hearings, submission of documents to the IRB-RPD during the pandemic, and changes to the rules regarding signatures and original documents.
    See more information here.
  • Extensions for Filing Basis of Claim Forms: The IRB-RPD has extended the time limit for filing your Basis of Claim form for people who have claimed refugee status at the Port of Entry after July 4, 2020.
    See more information here.
  • Submitting documents through Canada Post epost Connect: The IRB-RPD is allowing you to submit and receive documents electronically through Canada Post epost Connect.
    See more information here.

Audiences relative
à la demande d’asile pendant la pandémie de la COVID-19

Naviguer dans le processus de demande d’asile peut être complexe, en particulier pendant la pandémie de la COVID-19. Les informations et les ressources présentées ci-dessous vous aideront à comprendre l’impact de la COVID-19 sur le processus de demande d’asile et à mieux vous préparer à l’audience relative à votre demande d’asile.

À quoi pourrait ressembler votre audience pendant la pandémie de la COVID-19

La Section de la protection des réfugiés de la Commission de l’immigration et du statut de réfugié du Canada (SPR de la CISR) a élargi ses méthodes de tenue des audiences durant la pandémie. Vous pouvez obtenir une audience en personne, une audience par vidéoconférence, une audience à distance ou aucune audience du tout. La SPR de la CISR vous indiquera le format qui s’applique à votre cas.

Vous êtes dans la salle d’audience de la Commission de l’immigration et du statut de réfugié avec tous les participants. Des mesures de santé et de sécurité sont en place, notamment des écrans en plexiglas et des couvre-visages.
Audience en personne
Vous êtes dans la salle d’audience de la Commission de l’immigration et du statut de réfugié avec votre avocat, mais le commissaire de la Commission vous rejoint par vidéoconférence.
Audience par vidéoconférence
Vous vous connectez à distance avec Microsoft Teams depuis le bureau de votre avocat ou votre domicile. Le Commissaire et les autres participants se connectent également à distance depuis leur bureau ou leur domicile. Vous n’obtiendrez une audience à distance que si vous y consentez et si vous êtes à l’aise avec ce format.
Audience à distance
Vous pouvez obtenir une exemption d’audience si votre dossier est sélectionné pour être traité dans le cadre du processus d’examen du dossier. Le Commissaire examinera votre dossier ainsi que la preuve documentaire et pourra prendre une décision favorable sans la tenue d’une audience. Si le Commissaire souhaite poser des questions supplémentaires, votre demande pourra faire l’objet d’une audience. Pour en savoir plus sur les types de dossiers qui peuvent être sélectionnés pour être traités dans le cadre du processus d’examen de dossiers, cliquez ici : Demandes d’asile moins complexes.
Processus d’examen du dossier

Foire aux questions

Vous pouvez avoir des questions sur le processus d’audience relative à la demande d’asile pendant la pandémie. En voici quelques-unes des plus courantes. Si vous avez d’autres questions auxquelles vous ne trouvez pas de réponse ici, veuillez envoyer un courriel à ready@refugeeclaim.ca.

C’est la question récurrente que se posent de nombreux demandeurs d’asile. La SPR de la CISR a repris les audiences en personne, y compris celles qui ont été annulées en raison de la pandémie de la COVID-19, et elle s’efforce d’en fixer la date le plus efficacement possible. Il est impossible d’indiquer avec précision la date de votre audience, car de nombreux facteurs influent sur la planification des audiences. Votre cas n’est pas tombé dans l’oubli. Si vous avez des inquiétudes à ce sujet, communiquez avec votre avocat pour en discuter davantage.
Votre audience pourra se dérouler en personne ou par vidéoconférence. La SPR de la CISR vous indiquera le format choisi pour votre audience. Si votre dossier est sélectionné pour une audience à distance, on vous demandera si ce format vous convient. Une audience à distance n’est pas considérée comme appropriée si vous n’êtes pas représenté par un avocat, si le conseil du ministre intervient dans votre dossier ou si votre dossier comporte des questions complexes. Si vous avez une préférence pour une audience en personne ou à distance, vous devez en parler à votre avocat.
Non. Les enfants de moins de 18 ans ne sont pas tenus d’assister à l’audience afin de favoriser la distanciation physique dans la salle d’audience. La SPR de la CISR vous informera si votre enfant doit assister à l’audience. Si vous prévoyez d’amener un enfant, vous devez écrire à la SPR de la CISR au moins 10 jours avant la tenue de votre audience pour l’en informer. Cette exigence permet de s’assurer que la distanciation physique sera respectée lors de votre audience.
Vous pouvez les envoyer par courrier, télécopieur, postel ou courriel. Jusqu’à nouvel ordre, la remise de documents en personne à la SPR de la CISR est interdite. Vous trouverez des renseignements sur la manière d’envoyer des documents par courrier électronique à la section 2 de la page Web suivante de la CISR. Les renseignements sur l’utilisation de postel se trouvent dans l’avis de pratique suivant de la CISR. La limite de pages pour l’envoi de documents par télécopie est passée de 20 à 50.
Si vos coordonnées changent, vous devez en informer la SPR de la CISR le plus rapidement possible. Vous pouvez remplir le formulaire Avis de communication des coordonnées du client et le soumettre à la SPR de la CISR par courrier, télécopieur, postel ou courriel. Pour en savoir plus sur la façon d’envoyer des documents, reportez-vous la question ci-dessus.

À quoi il faut s’attendre si votre audience a lieu dans l’édifice de la Commission de l’immigration et du statut de réfugié (CISR)

Des mesures importantes ont été mises en place pour assurer la sécurité de tous pendant la pandémie. Assurez-vous de passer en revue toutes les procédures de sécurité de la CISR avant d’assister à votre audience :

Où trouver de l’aide

Guide de préparation

RHPG

Obtenir des conseils personnels, pratiques et juridiques est important dans le cadre de votre demande d’asile, en particulier pendant la pandémie. Assurez-vous d’avoir téléchargé le Guide de préparation à l’audience relative à la demande d’asile propre à votre langue et à votre ville. L’endos du Guide contient les coordonnées des organismes locaux qui peuvent vous aider à naviguer dans le processus de demande d’asile pendant la pandémie de la COVID-19.

READY Tours

READY Tours

Participez à une séance virtuelle READY Tour pour savoir à quoi vous attendre lors de l’audience relative à votre demande d’asile et comment vous y préparer. Les séances READY Tours vous permettent de visualiser la salle d’audience, d’entendre un membre du personnel de la Section de la protection des réfugiés de la Commission de l’immigration et du statut de réfugié du Canada vous expliquer comment se déroulera votre audience et de poser toutes les questions que vous avez sur le processus d’audience.

Avis spéciaux de la Section de la protection des réfugiés de la Commission de l’immigration et du statut de réfugié du Canada (SPR de la CISR)

La SPR de la CISR a diffusé des annonces portant sur les changements visant le processus de demande d’asile pendant la pandémie. Il s’agit de mises à jour sur le déroulement des audiences, sur les échéances de dépôt de documents importants et sur les modifications apportées aux modalités d’envoi de vos documents. Voici quelques-uns des avis les plus récents :

  • Reprise des audiences en personne : Cet avis contient des renseignements importants sur les protocoles relatifs aux audiences en personne, sur l’envoi de documents à la SPR de la CISR pendant la pandémie et sur les changements apportés aux règles concernant les signatures et les documents originaux. Pour plus d’informations, cliquez ici.
  • Prolongation pour le dépôt du formulaire Fondement de la demande d’asile : La SPR de la CISR a prolongé le délai pour le dépôt du formulaire Fondement de la demande d’asile par les personnes ayant demandé le statut de réfugié au point d’entrée après le 4 juillet 2020. Pour plus d’informations, cliquez ici.
  • Envoi de documents au moyen du service Connexion postel de Postes Canada : La SPR de la CISR vous permet d’envoyer et de recevoir des documents par le service Connexion postel de Postes Canada. Pour plus d’informations, cliquez ici.